Information

My Review of Premium Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil for Dogs and Cats


Michelle lives on a 39-acre farm with horses, donkeys, peacocks, chickens, German Shepherds, barn cats, two children, and one lucky husband.

The Benefits of Salmon Oil for Cats and Dogs

Dogs are physiologically incapable of making their own omega-3 fatty acids. Thus, they have a dietary need for acids such as eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). "Vegetable" oils such as canola, soybean, flaxseed, and walnut can provide dogs with the omega-3 fatty acid called alpha-linolenic acid (ALA), a precursor to EPA and DHA. Dogs do not transform ALA into EPA and DHA well, so nutritionally it is better to give EPA and DHA directly. The best source of these is from cold-water fish oils, such as salmon.

Omega fatty acids found in salmon oil provide widespread benefits. There are 2 major fatty acids found in salmon oil, EPA and DHA. EPA acts as an anti-inflammatory, which can help reduce inflammatory conditions that effect the heart, kidneys, joints and skin. DHA is important in brain and eye development in kittens and puppies. It is also recommended for pregnant or nursing pets. Salmon Oil promotes a shiny, healthy coat which may help reduce shedding.

Salmon oil has also been promoted for aiding with the following:

  • Improves cognitive function in older dogs.
  • Lowers blood pressure and triglycerides.
  • Provides support for dogs with kidney disease.
  • Helps promote weight loss in overweight dogs.
  • Helps in producing more collagen.
  • Can help to slow cancer cell growth.

Why Are Essential Fatty Acids Important?

Essential Fatty Acids are necessary for normal growth and functioning of cells, nerves, organs and muscles. They are required for the production of prostaglandins, which are hormone-like substances that are key to many important processes.

Deficiencies in EFAs can cause health problems such as:

  • Heart Disease
  • Cancer
  • Diabetes

Different Sources of EFA Supplements Available for Animals

Essential Fatty Acids (EFAs) can be purchased in a variety of products, in varied formulations with which to supplement your pets' diet.

  • Mixed in Dry food
  • Bottled Oil
  • Softgels

Dry food is processed with heat, which destroys some of the EFAs. It is also subject to oxidation, especially once the bag is opened, which further deteriorates the nutritive value of the EFAs.

Bottled Oil remains viable for a longer period of time than dry food, as do softgels supplements.

Why Choose Premium Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil for Dogs and Cats?

Premium Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil for Dogs and Cats by TerraMax Pro is carefully crafted and refined for purity from all toxins. TerraMax Pro uses one of the best purification methods currently in existence, Molecular Distillation. It removes heavy metals and other toxins, making it safe for consumption.This enables them to 100% guarantee their product to be the purest, most potent fish oil available for your pet.

It is pharmaceutical human grade and certified free of mercury. It provides Vitamin D, astaxanthin and over 15 omegas. This product comes in a 16oz bottle, along with either a pump top or a lid that flips open to squirt/squeeze out the amount that you want.

Since it is an oil instead of an additive to dry food, it isn't broken down by heat processing. It is subject to less oxidation than bagged food, which further breaks down nutritiously once opened. This makes it more potent and thus effective as a supplement.

Potential Side Effects

There are potential side effects as with any supplement or medication, most of which can be managed with adjusting the dose of the oil.

  • Weight gain: this can be managed with a healthy diet and regular exercise
  • Bad breath (it is salmon oil); this can be resolved by regularly cleaning their teeth
  • Stomach ache and pain
  • Dizziness
  • Nausea
  • Loose stool and diarrhea

My Experience With Premium Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil

I have been putting Premium Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil on my dog's dry food. Not only do my German Shepherds love the taste, but so do my barn cats. They try to sneak in around the dogs to get a bite! Sydney is starting to show some hip discomfort due to her age (9), so I am making sure she gets a serving daily with her food. This is an easy supplement to provide because the animals actually like the taste! I have never had a pleasant experience giving my animals pills of any kind, so I greatly prefer the oil format to options such as softgels.

I initially tried the pump, but changed to the flip up lid so I can easily squeeze just the right amount on top my dogs food daily. I have been giving this supplement to my dogs for about 2 weeks now and have not noticed any adverse/side effects. I can already tell that their coats have gotten shinier.

© 2017 Michelle Mollohan

Lisa on October 04, 2018:

I would like to know if your salmon oil contains hard metal toxins( mercury,lead)?

Michelle Mollohan (author) from Looneyville, WV on February 10, 2017:

Thank you for your question Luke. Without supplements, they would have to consume a varied diet in order to obtain all the necessary nutrients, otherwise they would be deficient and prone to the health issues that can result.

JourneyHolm on February 07, 2017:

Thank you for the informative article. I'm curious, what did dogs do before supplements?


Customer Reviews

166 Reviews 166 Reviews 4.6 out of 5 Stars

Filter reviews by star rating

96% of reviewers recommend this product

You've Already Reviewed This Item

166 Reviews

Showing 1-10 of 166 Reviews

Poor packaging but good product

Before I purchased this I saw another review that mentioned the packaging had changed for this product and there no longer was a pump included. I didn’t think that was a big deal, but the serving sizes are listed in “pumps”. It does say in the fine print that 1 pump is 2ml. There was a plastic small measuring cup that came with the bottle, however mine arrived broken. Additionally, if you have a dog weighing less than 25lbs then the measuring cup is useless too you as it is too large to measure the smaller quantities accurately. The packaging isn’t a deal breaker, but it’s less convenient than the pump-style that is advertised in the product images. The quality of the actual fish oil seems fine Before I purchased this I saw another review that mentioned the packaging had changed for this product and there no longer was a pump included. I didn’t think that was a big deal, but the serving sizes are listed in “pumps”. It does say in the fine print that 1 pump is 2ml. There was a plastic small measuring cup that came with the bottle, however mine arrived broken. Additionally, if you have a dog weighing less than 25lbs then the measuring cup is useless too you as it is too large to measure the smaller quantities accurately. The packaging isn’t a deal breaker, but it’s less convenient than the pump-style that is advertised in the product images. The quality of the actual fish oil seems fine so far, which is the more important aspect. … more

1 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Measuring cup is poor but overall great product.

By hlwagner on Feb 2, 2021

Upon arrival the measuring cup was completely obliterated. It took a little converting and research to know how much to use for our 100# lab but we eventually figured it out. He gets about 1 3/4 of a tsp split over two meals. I waited 3 weeks to write this review to give it time to work and so far it’s a go! I’ve noticed less shedding and his cost overall is more shiny and softer. Will continue to use this product!

0 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Cannot say enough!

I purchased this due to wanting to switch salmon oil to something more natural. The reviews were great so figured I’d try! My dog has been on this for 4 weeks now and feels like SILK! Cannot say enough and how pleased I am with this product. Give it a chance to get into your dogs system and work it’s magic. I also appreciated how it’s 1 ingredient!

0 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

No Customer Service

By Katsanddog on Feb 4, 2021

This brand has strange storage instructions, store between 55-65 degrees. So refrigerator is too cold and my house is too warm. I've tried repeatedly via phone and email to get in touch and haven't heard back on alternative storage instructions. This is not a cheap product so I'm very disappointed. We had been using another product but it was unavailable. This company is based in Austin, TX.

0 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Great for Skin Allergies

By TobysMom on Jan 31, 2021

My pit absolutely loves this salmon oil! He has a lot of food allergies that make him itch all over. We have been using this on his food for 2 weeks now and have definitely seen a difference in his skin. He is less red/inflamed and itching less overall. His coat is also somehow even more soft than it was before.

1 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Where is the pump?

By Margaret on Feb 3, 2021

Please explain how much I should give my dogs. The flimsy plastic measuring cup came broken and dosing directions is given in terms of pumps. I have a 40 pound keeshond and a 60 pound German shepherd. How much should they be getting> I have been simply squeezing it out without measuring.

1 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

NO PUMP, you have to measure out the fish oil!

By beckpartyof5 on Feb 3, 2021

The packaging for this item has changed and it now does NOT come with a pump. (Like it shows in the picture). Instead, they now package with a cheap plastic medicine measuring cup. Personally, I don’t want to measure out stinky fish oil every day. Would not purchase again without a pump.

1 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Dogs LOVE it!

By DogMom4 on Feb 13, 2021

All 4 of my dogs LOVE this oil. I pour the proper amount over their food at night. They all gobble it down. Their itching has gone down drastically. All their coats appear shiny and feel much softer. We will continue to use this great product!

0 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

No pump Included

The manufacturer decided to change the packaging (but not the main picture advertising the product. very deceitful). They are not including a pump anymore

which is the best way to get this kind of product on to your pets food without hassle. They were also too lazy to convert the pumps to the measurements on the cup they sent. A pump is 2ml and their measuring cup doesn’t go down that low. so for people with smaller animals 2ml is

.4 teaspoons, so you can to a shy half or a third if your pup is on the lower end.

6 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report

Cat doesn't like it

By Margarita on Feb 11, 2021

So this might be a good supplement, but my cat just doesn't like it. She doesn't eat any food even with the tiny drop of this oil inside. Maybe my cat is just picky.

0 You liked it! Something went wrong. Please try again later. Report


Best for Kidney Disease: Coco and Luna Milk Thistle Liver, Kidney and Bladder Support for Dogs

Some studies suggest that fish oil may also be beneficial for dogs with kidney disease, with a focus on the ability of omega-3 fatty acids.   These supplements from Vita Pet Life rely on a blend of fish oils and milk thistle, a flowering herb, to support kidney health and prevent stones. It contains EPA and DHA for renal support (as well as brain, heart and liver health), and comes in a bite-sized tablet that goes down easy.

Vita Pet Life’s Milk Thistle supplements also include potassium and folic acid, and customers praise the quality of the ingredients. They’ve noticed a difference in their dogs with kidney and liver issues, noting that their blood work has shown improvements since starting on the supplement.


Paws & Pals Omega 3 Pure Salmon Oil for Cats Pets Dogs Natural Diet Supplement (32 oz)

Paws & Pals, a leader in pet products and accessories, is proud to offer you our 100% Pure and Natural Alaskan Salmon.

Derived from 100% pure, natural Alaskan salmon, the oil supports a healthy heart, brain, and relieves joint pain.
It also promotes a glossy, shiny coat and relieves the skin of those pesky dry itches.
Just add one tablespoon per 25 lbs. of your pet's body weight daily and mix with food.
Your dog or cat will be living their best, healthiest life in no time.

Boost your pet's immune system and improve their overall health with Salmon Oil, brought to you by Paws & Pals.
An all-natural pet supplement that's rich in Omega-3 and Omega-6
The fatty acids contained within the salmon oil will help keep your pet's joints strong, giving them more energy to run, play and stay active daily.

Includes a pump for easy use.
The salmon oil for dogs and cats is certified and made in the USA.

IMPORTANT
At Paws & Pals, we know that you want top notch quality products with amazing service.
Please contact us with any questions, comments or concerns.
Warranty: 30-day limited manufacturer's warranty.

Paws & Pals is a new market leader and manufacturer of a wide variety of pet products and accessories.
FEEL FREE TO CHECK OUT other PAWS & PALS products that your dog and cat will absolutely love.

  • PREMIUM HIGH QUALITY: Our all-natural oil is made to specifically nourish your pet's body inside & out it's chock full of Omega fatty acids, vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants. It may help reduce shedding, restore healthy skin, relieve itchy dry skin, protect & revitalize fur/hair/coat, alleviate arthritis & allergy symptoms, help support joint & cognitive functions, and relieve inflammation.
  • ALL NATURAL: Supplement your dog's diet with our exclusive nutritious wild salmon oil, packed with Omega-3 and essential fatty acids to keep your furry friend healthy and active. Our 100% pure Alaskan salmon oil is derived from fish caught using responsible and environmentally safe fishing methods.
  • FATTY ACIDS: Salmon oil is a source of long-chain Omega-3 fatty acids EPA and DHA. It also contains Omega-6. Combined, these fatty acids support, aid, and promote joint, skin, immune, and heart health. These fatty acids contained within the oil helps keep your pet's joints strong, giving them more energy to run, play and stay active daily. Omega-3 may also provide benefits for autoimmune, allergic, and inflammatory health conditions.


Zesty Paws Pure Wild Alaskan Salmon Oil, Omega-3 with EPA & DHA for Dogs & Cats, 16 oz.

Zesty Paws Salmon Oil is a natural pet supplement comprised of wild Alaskan salmon, which is jam-packed with Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acids to deliver premium nourishment to dogs and cats of all sizes. The EPA and DHA sourced from the Omega-3 in our specialized supplement delivers vital nutrients to support proper joint function, heart health and skin/coat condition, as well as enhancing the immune system to make your four-legged friend healthier, happier, and zestier for life.

  • A TASTY & BODY-NOURISHING TREAT FOR CATS & DOGS - This Pure Salmon Oil from Zesty Paws is a natural fish oil additive supplement that support the skin, coat, hips and joints, heart, and immune system.
  • HEALTHY, POWERFUL OMEGA FATTY ACIDS - This premium Salmon Oil is rich with Omega-3 & Omega-6 fatty acid from EPA & DHA, that can help keep skin & coats soft & support the holistic health of your pet.
  • HELP YOUR PET STAY IN GREAT SHAPE - The rich fatty acids found in Salmon Oil have been shown to support joint, heart, and immune function to keep your four-legged friend feeling lively and active everyday, without the fuss.
  • A TREAT FOR PETS THAT'S EASY & MESS-FREE - For pet parents looking for an alternative to capsules or soft chews, all it takes is a few quick pumps of this liquid Salmon Oil to mix nicely with your dog or cat foods. Small, medium, and large breeds love it.
  • A PET SUPPLEMENT YOU CAN TRUST - Zesty Paws understands how much your pet?s wellness means to you, so they manufacture their Salmon Oil in FDA-registered facilities that are NSF and GMP-certified in the USA.

Indications:

Animal Health Concern: Skin & Coat Care

Ingredients:

Ingredients: Salmon Oil, Mixed Tocopherols (Natural).


Watch the video: Premium wild Alaskan salmon oil for dogs and cats (July 2021).